APPROVED BY COMMITTEE - 11/30/2023

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, September 14, 2023 3 MIES 143

Ashley Schumaker Amanda Skaggs Allen Wilson

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 1:46 p.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 15, 2023, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Wyatt, the minutes of the June 15, 2023, meeting were approved by unanimous vote (Ayes Bradley Montero, Pitts, Wyatts None)

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Mr. Pitts, who read the following motion: "Mister Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing a recommendation for the appointment of a faculty member with tenures. The motion was seconded and approved by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Montero, Pitts, Wykatys: None)In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during closed session: President Hemphill, Provost Agho, Interim Vice President Fridley, Judy Bowman, Annie Gibson, Nina Gonser, Jaime Hunt, Mary Jo Karlis, Brandi Hephner LaBanc, Alicia Monroe, Chad Reed, and Allen Wilson.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the closed session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a roll-call vote of the committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Montero, Pitts, Wyatt;Ntares).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Wyatt, the committee approved the appointment of Dr. James E. Bartlett, II as Associate Professor with the award of tenure in the Department of Educational Foundations and Leadership in the Darden College of Education and Professional Studies by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Montero, Pitts, Wyatt; Nays: None).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Wyatt, committee members approved 37 faculty appointments and one emerita appointment by unanimous vote (Ayes: Brdley, Montero, Pitts, Wyatt; Nays: None).